Our Historic 1786 Farmhouse
The Paw House" was built in 1786 by Elijah Smith, the Grandson of Captain John Smith. Through the years the owners of this magnificent farmhouse have maintained much of the original treasures while adding beautiful and special touches of their own.
Among the original, features of the home are its high ceilings, floor-to-ceiling windows, wide planked hardwood floors, and classic crown molding. The interior walls of the living room are the original, exterior barn boards of the multi-generational Smith farm which had stood against the Vermont elements until the early 1960s .
Views from the living room, sitting room and second floor hallway expand into all directions and present breathtaking views of mountains, valleys, and New England countryside.During the time of Elijah Smith, builders utilized marble (which was plentiful in the area) for the foundations of their homes. The Paw House Inn currently rests on the original marble slab that was excavated back in 1700's.
The entryway of the home features a grand old oak staircase that leads to the Good Dog! and Bad Dog! rooms, and Shakespeare's Retreat. Adorning the walls of the entryway is an Americana motif that Jen has grown to love. (She wasn't too crazy about it at first.)
Since 1786, many dogs have lived on the property. Many people claim that the ghosts of bygone spirits roam freely throughout the inn. We've seen them too! Don't be too concerned! As dog lovers themselves, the spirits look out for us and add a beautiful dimension to the property.Classic fixtures, lamps, and accoutrements are presented throughout the home. Given the nature of our clientele (i.e. the four legged kinds that like to wag tails and lift legs), we've avoided the temptation to add too many plants and knick-knacks.
Our yard offers many treasures as well. Two-hundred year old lilac bushes surround an outdoor sitting area that overlooks the best darn sledding hill in all of New England. In the spring and summer, our backyard explodes with the color of wild flowers. The tree-line, which represents the boundary of our property, explodes with color in September and October. A running river some 100 yards away can be heard on quiet nights. And, for the dogs Paw House Park is a fenced in agility course that is enjoyed in every season.Enjoy the photos on this page where we've tried to represent some of the beauty and rich history of this home. But, as we hope you will see personally, pictures really cannot do justice to the real thing!We look forward to your visit! Please visit us soon!
Our dining room contains many of the original features from the 1786 Smith house including the floor to ceiling windows, original floors, and original crown moulding.
For more than 200 years, the property was a working farm. Many of the older locals tell the tale of the Smith legacy and the rugged Vermonters who worked the land.
This photo was taken circa 1930 of 'Aunt Celia.' She was the last matriarch of the multi-generational farming family that owned the home since 1786. There is little question that Aunt Celia's spirit still lives within the property...
Today we work the land too! This photo is taken from high above the hill of our backyard. In the middle of the picture on the left side is where the barn once stood...
Dogs have always been a part of the property. This photo was given to us by a nephew of Aunt Celia. He told us that she is very happy that The Paw House Inn is now here because she loved dogs so much.
Once upon a time, the living room was a horse stall! The ceiling served to protect the horses from the elements and above it (where The Chase room is now) was a hay loft. The interior walls are furnished with the barn board from the collapsed structure seen in the above photo of Aunt Celia.
The fascinating history of the town of West Rutland centered around the marble trade. Elijah Smith was among the first entrepreneurs who mined the quarries. In the 1800s the rail road line pictured above carried marble from West Rutland, Vermont to Boston where it was put onto boats and sold in France. It is a privilege to share the rich history of our region and invite you to see some of the original feats of engineering that were built back before the time of Caterpillar machines and Kubotas.